The Montreal-based duo of Kamel Fergani and Fred Pollack won the four-session Wernher Open Pairs last night, parlaying a strong carryover from their victory in the qualifying round with two 58-plus percent games in the final sessions. In second were Brian Glubok of New York City and David Treitel of Miami FL, who finished one […]

The squad led by Sheila Gabay won the Freeman Mixed Board-a-Match Teams, narrowly edging out Barbara Ferm’s squad by 0.20. Gabay, of Newton MA, played with Victor King of Hartford CT and Linda Lewis and Paul Lewis of Las Vegas. Ferm, of Dallas TX, played with Jacob Morgan of Madison WI, Jill Meyers of Santa […]

The squad dubbed China Yellow defeated Joanne Weingold’s squad in the final of the Wagar Women’s Knockout Teams 128-127. Playing for the Chinese team were Wen Hu, Ling Gan, Tao Zhou, Juyu Wang, Jingrang Ran and Ling Gu. The non-playing captain was Xiao Jing Wang. It was the first NABC title for the squad except […]

The Anti-Cheating Commission, the ACBL’s latest weapon in its arsenal against collusive cheating, is powered up and ready for action. Serving as commissioners are Boye Brogeland, Norway; John Carruthers, Canada; Eric Laurant, Netherlands; Brad Moss, U.S.A. and Howard Weinstein, U.S.A. “I cannot emphasize enough the importance of this committee,” says ACBL chief executive Robert Hartman. […]

The squad captained by Glenn Eisenstein narrowly captured the title in the Truscott/U.S. Playing Card Senior Swiss Teams, finishing ahead of Jim Krekorian’s team by less than one Victory Point. Eisenstein, of New York City, played with Richard Reitman of Los Gatos CA. Their teammates were John Rengstorff, also of New York, and Geoffrey Brod […]

Grand National Teams Morehead Championship Flight Winners of the Grand National Teams Championship Flight from District 25: Doug Doub, Frank Merblum, Zachary Grossack and Adam Grossack Second in the GNT Championship Flight from District 21: Lew Stansby, JoAnna Stansby, David Grainger, Kit Woolsey, Debbie Rosenberg and Chip Martel   Goldman Flight A GNT Flight A […]

Online bridge giant Bridge Base Online and the ACBL have contracted to take their partnership to new heights. “BBO’s robot games will be the only robot games sanctioned to award ACBL masterpoints,” announced Robert Hartman, ACBL chief executive officer. Hartman makes it clear that OKbridge and Swan will continue to be sanctioned to award masterpoints […]

In an exciting match loaded with star power, Team Hamman broke loose in the final segment to win the Senior U.S. Bridge Championship 175-147. The winners will represent the U.S. at the 2016 World Bridge Games in Wroclaw, Poland in September. The victors are Reese Milner-Hemant Lall, Mark Lair-Bob Hamman and Zia Mahmood-Jeff Meckstroth. Petra […]

The European Bridge League and American Contract Bridge League are joining forces to tackle critical challenges facing bridge today. At meetings during the European championships underway in Budapest, Hungary, EBL President Yves Aubry and ACBL Chief Executive Robert Hartman got down to business on how the two powerhouse bridge conferences can pool resources and share […]

The Senior USBC starts Friday, June 17 and will conclude on Wednesday, June 22. The winners will represent the U.S. at the 2016 World Bridge Games in Wroclaw, Poland September 3-17. There are 14 teams entered in this year’s event. For a list of the teams entered, click here. The event will start with the […]